The Daily Point of Light Award

“I have spoken of a thousand points of light, of all the community organizations that are spread like stars throughout the nation, doing good.”

President George H.W. Bush

From his first day in office, President George H. W. Bush devoted very special attention to voluntary community service as a means of helping solve some of America’s most serious social problems. He was the first president in history to establish a White House office exclusively charged with this work.

In 1990, President Bush created the Daily Point of Light Award for individuals making a difference. He formally recognized more than 1,000 volunteers as “points of light,” making the Points of Light movement a defining mission of the Bush administration.

These points of light – ordinary Americans from all walks of life using their time, talents, resources and voice to solve serious social problems – are the power of the movement and the strength of the nation.

In 1998, Points of Light and the Corporation for National and Community Service reinstated the Daily Point of Light Award with a mission to honor those who take action to create change in their communities.

As the spirit of volunteering spread, so did the Daily Point of Light Award. In April 2014, in partnership with Points of Light, the United Kingdom’s prime minister launched the UK Points of Light award from 10 Downing Street. In 2018, the Royal Family began recognizing volunteers in each of the 52 Commonwealth Countries with a Point of Light Award signed by Her Majesty The Queen.

To date, more than 6,000 Daily Point of Light Awards have been given in the United States, and nearly 1,000 in the United Kingdom. Some to celebrities, using their power for good, including Tyler Perry, Jose Andres, Yara Shahidi, and Coty Sensabaugh.

But many more have gone to the points of light who are everyday people doing extraordinary things, like Annie Moore of Atlanta; Harper and Maggie Cunningham of College Station, Texas; or the 5,000th Daily Point of Light Award recipients, Floyd Hammer and Kathy Hamilton, who received their award from President George H. W. Bush and President Barack Obama at the White House.

These points of light are the heart and soul of our country and the world, and through them, the legacy of George H. W. Bush will live on forever.

Nominate a Daily Point of Light

Use the map to pledge your service.